Training Log – Weeks 5,6

Comment: My wife and I continued our annual tradition of discovering new music and artists by listening to some of the songs and albums representing the nominations, awards, and broadcast of the Grammy Awards. I added selections of music I liked to my library on the Napster music service, and will use some of those selections during upcoming training sessions. I don’t always listen to music while running, but sometimes the inspiration or distraction is welcome.

Raw Data: The following are the dates, distances, paces, and locations of running sessions. For some sessions, additional information is included. ** 14-Feb-2017, 3.1 miles, 10.5 minutes per mile, treadmill. ** 16-Feb-2017, 3.9 miles, 10.4 minutes per mile, treadmill. ** 18-Feb-2017, 10.38 miles, 11:20 minutes per mile, neighborhood. ** 21-Feb-2017, 3.1 miles, 10.0 minutes per mile, treadmill. I realized how slow I’ve been running this winter, and intentionally ran a bit faster this session. ** 23-Feb-2017, 4.9 miles, 10.8 minutes per mile, treadmill. ** 25-Feb-2017, 9.0 miles, 10.7 minutes per mile, treadmill. After a week of bizarre winter weather of sunshine and daytime temperatures near 70 F, I woke on this Saturday morning to 17 mph wind sustained, 34 mph wind gusts, temperature 31 F, and light drizzle, and just wasn’t feeling hardcore. Lamenting the loss of pleasant running weather, I went to the fitness club and did a long run indoors. ** The total running distance was 34.4 miles for weeks 5 and 6.

