Training Log – Weeks 11,12

Comment: My typical Saturday morning running sessions take me through two residential neighborhoods to the western edge of the town of Brownsburg Indiana and along a rural road in Hendricks County to the historic location of the pioneer town of Tilden Indiana. The empty field where the train station once stood is now the west end and future trail head of the growing B&O Trail. For over a decade, I’ve been running this particular segment as the first three miles of my running route before heading down other rural roads in the county and then circling back toward home. For the last two consecutive weeks, though, I’ve turned onto the new section of the B&O Trail, not waiting for the official opening later this year, and have run to the major artery of Green St before turning around and heading back toward home.  I’m liking this change, and envision that this will become my new regular Saturday morning route.

Comment: The next Indy Mini-Marathon occurs in exactly one month. I’m having a good training program so far and am cautiously optimistic that if I add some hard miles during the next two weeks and then have a sensible taper, I might achieve an elapsed time in the race that is at least a few minutes faster than last year. Could I set a new personal record this year?  Could I finally break the two hour barrier this year?  Not realistic, but maybe I’ll dream.

Raw Data: The following are the dates, distances, paces, and locations of running sessions. For some sessions, additional information is included. ** 28-Mar-2017, 4.3 miles, 11.0 minutes per mile, treadmill. ** 29-Mar-2017, 3.8 miles, 9.7 minutes per mile, treadmill. ** 01-Apr-2017, 13.22 miles, 10:52 minutes per mile, neighborhood and rural roads including B&O Trail from CR 500 E to Green St and back. ** 03-Apr-2017, 4.0 miles, 9.8 minutes per mile, treadmill. ** 04-Apr-2017, 3.3 miles, 9.7 minutes per mile, treadmill. ** 06-Apr-2017, 4.5 miles, 10.7 minutes per mile, treadmill. ** 08-Apr-2017, 13.12 miles, 10:48 minutes per mile, neighborhood and rural roads including B&O Trail from CR 500 E to Green St and back. My goal was to run a steady pace and keep each mile faster than eleven minutes, and I succeeded for the first twelve miles, though the effort was harder than I expected. ** The total running distance was 46.2 miles for weeks 11 and 12.

