Training Log: Week 2

As promised last week in my training log, I write here some additional details of my choice of marathon. The Monumental Marathon is one of largest marathons in the country, held each year on the first Saturday in November. It starts and finishes at the Indiana State Capitol and has a course that highlights landmarks and historical neighborhoods throughout Indianapolis, including the Arts Garden, Lucas Oil Stadium, Circle Center Mall, Warehouse District, Eli Lilly campus, Bankers Life Fieldhouse, Monument Circle, Federal buildings and monuments, Cultural Trail, Mass Ave District, Pennsylvania Avenue thru Fall Creek Place, Meridian Street, Washington Boulevard through Meridian-Kessler, Butler University, the Indianapolis Museum of Art, Broad Ripple, and the State Fairgrounds and Fall Creek Parkway. Of course, there will be plenty of drink and aid stations throughout and the customary medal and food at the end.

I live in an Indianapolis suburb, so the convenience of a local race is a huge factor in my choice, as there will be no travel and lodging involved, and since I ran this marathon before, I will already be familiar with the course. It was the 2015 Monumental Marathon that I survived two years ago, so it will be the 2017 Monumental Marathon that I conquer this year.

As in previous years, paces written in the details of my training logs that were recorded while running with Indy Runners have a caveat, that time on my running watch was paused during short beverage and conversation breaks.

** 10-Jul-2017, 3.7 miles, 10.0 minutes per mile, on a treadmill. I felt a bit fatigued and ended the session earlier than planned.

** 12-Jul-2017, 3.5 miles, 9.9 minutes per mile, including intervals of 3 by 0.5 miles at 9.0 minutes per mile, on a treadmill. This was the second time in my running career that I ran intervals, and this session will be practice for next week, when intervals become a serious part of my training program.

** 15-Jul-2017, 13.12 miles, 11:11 minutes per mile. From running deck in Broad Ripple west on the Central Canal Towpath to 30th St and the Naval Armory, and back to running deck with a short extra loop into Butler University, with Indy Runners. Weather was 63 to 72 F and sunny. Nutrition was Clif bar pre-run, Gatorade drink at mile 3, Carb Boom gel with copious amounts of water distributed over multiple miles, and two Quaker Chewy Granola bars post-run. I did my best to hold an even pace of 10:57 minutes per mile throughout the session, and couldn’t quite keep up.

Total training this week, 20.3 miles running. Music of the week, Clockwork Angels by Rush.

Indy Runners in week 2 took us past the naval armory. Since Indianapolis is not located next to a significant body of water or near a navigable waterway, why do we have a naval armory?
Leave a Reply

